ICOM Kyoto 2019

25ème Conférence générale

1-7 Septembre, 2019

Discours principaux

 

2 sept. (lun.) J2

Kengo Kuma

Kengo Kuma est né à Yokohama en 1954 et il obtient sa maîtrise à l’université de Tokyo en 1979. En 1990, il fonde sa propre agence Kengo Kuma & Associates, qui conçoit aujourd'hui une grande variété de projets à travers le monde avec plus de 200 architectes basés à Tokyo, en Chine et à Paris. Après avoir enseigné à l’université Keio, il devient professeur à l’École supérieure d’architecture de l’université de Tokyo en 2009.
Kengo Kuma obtient le prix annuel de l’Institut d’architecture du Japon en 1997 pour la Scène de no dans la forêt puis le prix Mainichi des arts en 2010 pour le Musée Nezu. Ses travaux récents comptent le Musée d’Art Suntory, le Centre d’information touristique et culturelle d’Asakusa, le Aore Nagaoka, le Kabuki-za, la Cité des Artsde Besançon, le FracPACA et le V&A Dundee. Kengo Kuma & Associates participe, en collaboration avec Taisei Corporation et Azusa Sekkei, à la construction du Nouveau stade olympique national du Japon.
Kengo Kuma est par ailleurs l’auteur de nombreux livres dont la plupart a été traduite en chinois et en coréen. Ses ouvrages majeurs, Anti-ObjectNatural Architecture et Small Architecture ont été publiés en anglais aux éditions AA Publications, les presses de la prestigieuse institution d’architecture britannique AA School.

Site internet: http://kkaa.co.jp/

©PEY INADA

Titre du discours:
L’ère de la forêt Les détails

L’ère de la forêt

Date: 10:50-11:20, Lundi 2 septembre
Lieu: Hall principal, Centre International de Conférence de Kyoto (ICC Kyoto)

Au 20e siècle, l’homme s’est mis à sous-estimer la force de la nature. Nous avons tous perdu notre respect pour la nature et avons eu le tort de croire que nous pouvions tout contrôler.

Les Japonais savaient autrefois comment se comporter avec la nature et qu’il ne servait à rien d’essayer de se mesurer à elle. Ce n’est pas un adversaire contre lequel vous pouvez gagner. Vous pouvez survivre et vivre avec la nature uniquement en la comprenant et en la respectant, et cette sagesse a empêché les habitants de construire des maisons au-delà d’une certaine hauteur.

Cependant, tout au long du 20e siècle, les gens se sont tournés vers le béton et l’acier, pour construire une architecture « imposante et solide » faite de matériaux « solides ». Les constructions traditionnelles en bois, en pierre ou en terre ont désormais été considérées comme « fragiles » et « dépassées ». Cette architecture moderne de style international, dominée par le béton et l’acier, a rompu les liens entre les êtres humains et leurs lieux d’origine.

Nous vivons à une ère post-industrielle où les « lieux / endroits » jouent un rôle prépondérant. L’ère industrielle qui avait pour cadre la production de « choses » et les « nations » est révolue. Le monde est entré dans une ère où le « pouvoir des petits lieux » est en train d’être reconsidéré. L’architecture se transforme en un intermédiaire qui relie à nouveau les gens et les lieux. Les musées doivent également être des outils importants pour renforcer le lien entre les gens et les lieux. Le V&A Dundee que nous avons conçu a été créé à partir de cette idée.

Dans cette conférence, j’aborderai la façon dont je conçois l’architecture dans le cadre de ce changement d’époque, de « l’ère du béton » à « l’ère de la forêt ».

Date:
10:50-11:20, Lundi 2 septembre
Lieu:
Hall principal, Centre International de Conférence de Kyoto (ICC Kyoto)

Œuvres principales

Kodama(ITALY)

Kodama (Italie)
Photo by Kengo Kuma & Associates

V&A Dundee(Scotland, UK)

V&A Dundee(Scotland, UK)
Photo by Hufton+Crow

梼原 木橋ミュージアム

Musée du pont de bois Yusuhara
Photo by Takumi Ota

 

 

3 sept. (mar.) J3

Sebastião Salgado

Sebastião Salgado, né en 1944 dans le Minas Gerais au Brésil, vit à Paris.
Economiste de formation, il débute sa carrière de photographe professionnel en 1973 à Paris ; il travaille avec plusieurs agences de photo jusqu’en 1994, quand Lélia Wanick Salgado et Salgado fondent Amazonas images, exclusivement dédiée à son travail.
Il voyage dans plus de 100 pays pour ses projets photographiques, qui, au-delà de nombreuses publications dans la presse internationale, ont été présentés dans les livres.
Des expositions itinérantes de ces travaux ont été et continuent d’être présentées dans des grands musées et galeries sur tous les continents.
Salgado travaille actuellement sur un projet photographique ayant pour thème les communautés indigènes dont le territoire est la forêt amazonienne au Brésil. Ce travail sera présenté sous forme de livres et d’expositions en 2021.
Sebastião Salgado a été récompensé par de très nombreux prix pour son travail, parmi lesquels Grand Prix National, Ministère de la Culture et de la Francophonie, France. En 2016 il fut nommé Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, et fut élu membre de l’Académie des Beaux-arts de l’Institut de France. En 2019 il fut élu membre honoraire de l'American Academy of Arts and Letters, Etats-Unis.

©Yann Arthus-Bertrand

Titre du discours:
UNE INITIATIVE POUR LA FORÊT AMAZONIENNE DU BRÉSIL Les détails

UNE INITIATIVE POUR LA FORÊT AMAZONIENNE DU BRÉSIL

Date: 9:00-10:00, Mardi 3 septembre
Lieu: Hall principal, Centre International de Conférence de Kyoto (ICC Kyoto)

On a beaucoup écrit sur la destruction de la forêt amazonienne, sur la déforestation d’immenses pans de forêt primaire par des feux volontaires, pour faire place à des fermes d’élevage de bovins et de plantations de soja, et on a beaucoup écrit sur l’empoisonnement des cours d’eau par les chercheurs d’or et sur la pénétration de territoires vierges pour l’exploitation illégale du bois. Tout ceci, et plus encore, est réel.

Et pourtant, si de vastes étendues de la plus grande forêt tropicale du monde ont été détruites, 81 % au seul Brésil restent intacts. C’est la responsabilité partagée du Brésilde protéger ce qu’il en reste. L’urgence de le faire nous a conduit à promouvoir une initiative de développement de nouvelles formes créatives de protection et de gestion durable de la région amazonienne. En cela, les gardiens ancestraux de la forêt, ses peuples indigènes, peuvent – et déjà le font – jouer un rôle central.

La déforestation est une réalité indéniable, et elle est plus criante sur les terres gouvernementales et privées. Mais même là, plus de 60 % de la forêt est restée intouché. Pour explorer cet héritage intact, nous avons entrepris un voyage photographique à long terme pour enregistrer les modes de vie des indigènes qui vivent en harmonie avec la forêt amazonienne au Brésil. J’ai photographié des communautés, parmi lesquelles les Kuikuro, les Kamayura et les Waura dans la région du Haut Xingu, ainsi que les Zoé, les Awá, les Yanomami, les Ashaninka, les Yawanawa, les Suruwará et les Korubo, des groupes ethniques au coeur de l’Amazonie.

En même temps, nous sommes en train d’établir des archives plus larges de la région entière, avec des photographies au sol et aériennes du labyrinthe complexe que forment les affluents sinueux qui alimentent le fleuve Amazone, et les changements dramatiques des niveaux d’eau au cours des saisons sèches et des saisons de crues; et aussi avec des photographies aériennes de la forêt vierge et de colonnes de fumée qui s’élèvent à des kilomètres au-dessus des zones où la forêt est encore mise à feu.

Notre espoir est que le livre et les expositions qui résulteront de ce travail photographique servent de catalyseurs pour éveiller les consciences à la nécessité de protéger la forêt amazonienne et sa population autochtone, ainsi que de créer de nouvelles approches d’exploitation des ressources naturelles et humaines de la forêt, sans continuer à les mettre en péril.

Date:
9:00-10:00, Mardi 3 septembre
Lieu:
Hall principal, Centre International de Conférence de Kyoto (ICC Kyoto)

Œuvres principales

Chemical sprays protect this fire fighter against the heat of the flames.

Combattant du feu protégé de la température des flammes par vaporisation de produits chimiques. Gisement de pétrole du Grand Burhan, après la guerre du Golfe. Koweit, 1991.

Korubo members of the Pinu family.

Membres korubo de la famille Pinu.
Territoire indien de la Vallée de Javari.
Etat de Amazonas, Brési, 2017.

Group of Waura fishing in the Piulaga Lake.

Groupe de Waura pêchant dans le lac de Piyulaga.
Haut-Xingu, Mato Grosso, Brésil. 2005.

 

 

4 sept. (mer.) J4

Cai Guo-Qiang

Cai Guo-Qiang est un artiste né en 1957 à Quanzhou en Chine. Il a été formé à la conception scénographique à l'Académie de théâtre de Shanghai de 1981 à 1985 et son œuvre a depuis investi de multiples supports artistiques y compris le dessin, les installations, la vidéo et les performances. Cai a commencé à expérimenter la poudre à canon dans sa ville natale de Quanzhou et a poursuivi l'exploration de ses propriétés lors de son séjour au Japon de 1986 à 1995. Cette recherche l'a conduit au développement des événements explosifs en plein air si caractéristiques de son travail. Cai tire le fondement conceptuel de son œuvre de la philosophie orientale et des problèmes de société contemporains, permettant ainsi à ses travaux de mettre en lumière l’histoire et la culture ainsi que de produire un échange entre les spectateurs et le vaste univers qui les entoure. Son art explosif et ses installations sont imprégnés d'une force qui transcende le plan bidimensionnel pour engager le dialogue avec la société et la nature.

Cai a été récompensé du Lion d'Or à la Biennale de Venise en 1999, du Prix d'Art d'Hiroshima en 2007 et du Prix de la culture asiatique de Fukuoka en 2009. En 2012, il a l'honneur de devenir Lauréat du prestigieux Praemium Imperiale, puis la même année, d'être nominé comme l'un des cinq artistes à recevoir la première Médaille des Arts du département d’État des États-Unis pour son engagement exceptionnel en faveur des échanges culturels internationaux.

Il vit et travaille actuellement à New York.

Site internet:https://caiguoqiang.com/

Cai Guo-Qiang devant son œuvre Dessin à la poudre à canon colorée pour la Ville aux Fleurs dans le Ciel : Manifestation explosive de jour pour Florence, Galeries Uffizi, 2018.
Photo d'Yvonne Zhao, avec l'aimable permission de Cai Studio

Titre du discours:
Mes années muséales Les détails

Mes années muséales

Date: 10:30-11:00, Mercredi 4 septembre
Lieu: Hall principal, Centre International de Conférence de Kyoto (ICC Kyoto)

Cai Guo-Qiang raconte comment il a interagi avec le système muséal au cours de ces dernières décennies via une série de projets à travers le monde. Cela inclut son exposition personnelle actuelle à la National Gallery of Victoria à Melbourne, qui a lieu parallèlement à l’exposition de la célèbre armée de terre cuite ; ses projets Everything is Museum qui ont permis de fonder une série de musées à Iwaki, Fukushima et dans d’autres régions considérées comme difficiles par les tendances contemporaines de la construction muséale ; ses expositions personnelles dans des grandes institutions de l’art occidental – les musées Pouchkine à Moscou, Prado à Madrid, Uffizi à Florence et le Musée archéologique national de Naples, ainsi que l’exposition dont il a été commissaire, Non-Brand 非品牌, avec des œuvres tirées de la collection du musée Solomon R. Guggenheim.

Comment les classiques des musées inspirent-ils les aventures artistiques d’aujourd’hui et comment les conservateurs des musées agissent-ils comme des « chamans » pour relier les artistes à l’histoire de l’art ? Comment construire des musées qui seront favorablement accueillis par le public local, par opposition à ceux qui ne sont que des marques de tourisme culturel destinées aux étrangers ? Quel est le rôle des musées pour les communautés locales, en particulier à une époque où la construction de musées est devenue à la mode à l’échelle mondiale et où l’art contemporain est sans cesse plus raffiné et élitiste ?

Date:
10:30-11:00, Mercredi 4 septembre
Lieu:
Hall principal, Centre International de Conférence de Kyoto (ICC Kyoto)

Œuvres principales

Color Gunpowder Drawing for City of Flowers in the Sky

Dessin à la poudre à canon colorée pour la Ville aux Fleurs dans le Ciel : Manifestation explosive de jour pour Florence 2018
Photo de Wen-You Cai, avec l'aimable permission de Cai Studio

Footprints of History: Fireworks Project for the Opening Ceremony of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games

Les Empreintes de l'Histoire : Projet pyrotechnique pour la cérémonie d'ouverture des Jeux Olympiques 2008 de Beijing, 2008
Photo de Hiro Ihara, avec l'aimable permission de Cai Studio

Heritage, 2013

Héritage, 2013
Photographe : Natasha Harth, QAGOMA
Avec l'aimable permission de : Queensland Art Gallery | Galerie d'Art Moderne

ICOM Kyoto 2019

25th General Conference

1-7 September 2019

Keynote Speech

 

2 Sept. (Mon)

KENGO KUMA

Kengo Kuma was born in Yokohama in 1954 and he completed his master’s degree at the University of Tokyo in 1979. In 1990 he established its own firm Kengo Kuma & Associates, which today designs a wide variety of projects across the world with more than 200 architects based in Tokyo, China and Paris. Kuma taught at Keio University as professor, and in 2009 he was installed as professor at the Graduate School of Architecture of the University of Tokyo.

Kuma was awarded with Architectural Institute of Japan Annual Award in 1997 for the Noh Stage in the Forest and Mainichi Art Award in 2010 for Nezu Museum. Some of his recent works include Suntory Museum of Art, Asakusa Culture Tourist Information Center, Nagaoka City Hall Aore, Kabukiza, Besançon Art Center and Cité de la Musique, FRAC Marseille and V&A Dundee. Kengo Kuma & Associates are also working on the New National Stadium Japan along with Taisei Corporation and Azusa Sekkei.

He has also written numerous books and most of the titles have been translated into Chinese and Korean. His major writings, Anti-Object, Natural Architecture, Small Architecture have been published in English from AA Publications, the book department of AA School, UK’s prestigious architecture institution.

Website: http://kkaa.co.jp/

©PEY INADA

Speech Title:
The Age of Forest Details

The Age of Forest

Date: 10:50-11:20, Monday, 2 September
Venue: Main Hall, Kyoto International Conference Center

In the 20th century, human beings began to undervalue the force of nature. All of us lost reverence for nature and misunderstood as if we could control everything.

Japanese people used to know the way to deal with nature. There was no use in trying to confront with it. It is not an opponent that you could win over. You survive and live with the nature only by understanding and respecting it, and that wisdom stopped locals to build houses below a certain height.

However, throughout the 20th century, people shifted toward concrete and steel, to construct “big and strong” architecture made of “strong” materials. Traditional buildings in wood, stone or earth were considered “weak” and “outdated.” Such modern architecture in the international style which was dominated by concrete and steel severed ties between human beings and their places.

We are living in a post-industrial age in which “places/locations” play the leading role. The industrial age with the framework of the production of “things” and “nations” has ended. The world has changed to an age where the “power of small places” is being reviewed. Architecture is changing into an intermediary that connects people and places again. Museums are also required to be important tools to reinforce the tie between people and places. V&A Dundee we designed was created based on such idea.

In the lecture I will discuss how I design architecture in the change of time, from the “Age of Concrete” to the “Age of Forest.”

Date:
10:50-11:20, Monday, 2 September
Venue:
Main Hall, Kyoto International Conference Center

Main Works

Kodama(ITALY)

Kodama(ITALY)
©Kengo Kuma & Associates

浅草文化観光センター

Asakusa Culture Tourist Information Center
© Takeshi YAMAGISHI

梼原 木橋ミュージアム

Yusuhara Wooden Bridge Museum
©Takumi Ota

 

 

3 Sept. (Tue)

Sebastião Salgado

Sebastião Salgado, born in 1944 in Minas Gerais, Brazil, lives in Paris. Having studied economics, he began his career as a professional photographer in 1973 in Paris, working with photo agencies until 1994, when he and Lélia Wanick Salgado formed Amazonas images, created exclusively for his work.
He travelled in over 100 countries for his photographic projects. Beyond press publications, his main works were presented in books. Touring exhibitions of these works have been, and continue to be, presented in museums and galleries throughout the world.

Salgado is currently working on a photographic project on the theme of the Brazilian Amazon forest and its inhabitants, the indigenous communities. This work will be presented in the form of books and exhibitions in 2021.

Sebastião Salgado has been awarded numerous photographic prizes in recognition of his accomplishments. He is the recipient of prestigious honors, such as the Grand Prix National, Ministry of Culture and French-Speaking Countries, France. In 2016, Salgado was elected member of the Académie des Beaux-Arts of Institut de France, and was named Chevalier (Knight) de la Légion d’Honneur, France. Salgado is an honorary member of the Academy of Arts and Sciences in USA and was elected Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, New York, USA in 2019.

©Yann Arthus-Bertrand

Speech Title:
A Brazilian Amazon Forest Initiative Details

A Brazilian Amazon Forest Initiative

Date: 9:00-10:00, Tuesday, 3 September
Venue: Main Hall, Kyoto International Conference Center

Much has been written about the destruction of the Amazon forest, about the burning of large swathes of primary jungle to make way for cattle farms and soybean plantations, the poisoning of rivers by freelance gold miners and the penetration of virgin territory by illegal loggers. All this and more is true.

Yet if vast tracts of the world’s greatest tropical rainforest have been destroyed, in Brazil alone over 81 percent of it remains untouched. And it is the shared responsibility of Brazil to preserve what remains. The urgency to do so has led us to promote an initiative to develop new and creative forms of protection and sustainable management of the Amazon region. In this, as age-old guardians of the forest, its indigenous peoples can – and already do – play a central role.

Deforestation is an undeniable reality and it is most acute on government or privately-owned landBut even here, over 60 percent of the forest cover remains intact. To explore this undamaged legacy, we have undertaken a lengthy photographic journey to record the lives of the indigenous peoples who live in harmony with the Brazilian Amazon forest. I have photographed tribes among which the Kuikuro, Kamayura and Waura in the Alto Xingú region as well as the Zoé, Awá, Yanomami, Ashaninka, Yawanawa, Suruwará and Korubo ethnic groups in the heart of the Amazon.

Along the way, we are building up an even broader archive of the entire region, with ground and aerial photographs of the complex maze of winding tributaries that feed the Amazon and the dramatic changes of their water levels in wet and dry seasons as well as aerial images of both the virgin forest and plumes of smoke rising thousands of feet where jungle is still being torched.

Our hope is that the resulting book and exhibitions can serve as a catalyst for raising awareness of the need to protect the Amazon forest and its native population and for generating new approaches to exploiting its natural and human resources without further damaging them.

Date:
9:00-10:00, Tuesday, 3 September
Venue:
Main Hall, Kyoto International Conference Center

Main Works

Chemical sprays protect this fire fighter against the heat of the flames.

Chemical sprays protect this fire fighter against the heat of the flames.
Greater Burhan, after the Gulf War. Kuwait, 1991.

Korubo members of the Pinu family.

Korubo members of the Pinu family.
Indigenous territory of the Javari Valley. State of Amazonas, Brazil. 2017.

Group of Waura fishing in the Piulaga Lake.

Group of Waura fishing in the Piulaga Lake. Upper Xingu, Mato Grosso Brazil. 2005.

 

 

4 Sept. (Wed)

CAI GUO-QIANG

Cai Guo-Qiang is an artist born in 1957 in Quanzhou, China. He was trained in stage design at the Shanghai Theatre Academy from 1981 to 1985, and his work has since crossed multiple mediums within art including drawing, installation, video, and performance. Cai began to experiment with gunpowder in his hometown Quanzhou, and continued exploring its properties while living in Japan from 1986 to 1995. This inquiry eventually led to the development of his signature outdoor explosion events. Drawing upon Eastern philosophy and contemporary social issues as a conceptual basis, his artworks respond to culture and history and establish an exchange between viewers and the larger universe around them. His explosion art and installations are imbued with a force that transcends the two-dimensional plane to engage with society and nature.

Cai was awarded the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale in 1999, the Hiroshima Art Prize in 2007, and the Fukuoka Asian Culture Prize in 2009. In 2012, he was honored as a Laureate for the prestigious Praemium Imperiale, and in the same year, he was named as one of the five artists to receive the first U.S. Department of State Medal of Arts for his outstanding commitment to international cultural exchange.

He currently lives and works in New York.

Website:https://caiguoqiang.com/

Cai Guo-Qiang in front of his work Color Gunpowder Drawing for City of Flowers in the Sky: Daytime Explosion Event for Florence, Uffizi Galleries, 2018.
Photo by Yvonne Zhao, courtesy Cai Studio

Speech Title:
My Museum Years Details

My Museum Years

Date: 10:30-11:00, Wednesday, 4 September
Venue: Main Hall, Kyoto International Conference Center

Cai Guo-Qiang recounts how he has interacted with the museum system over the past several decades through a series of projects across the globe. These include his current solo exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne, which is taking place in conjunction with their exhibition of the famed Terracotta Warriors; his Everything is Museum projects that founded a series of museums in Iwaki, Fukushima and other areas considered difficult by contemporary trends in museum-building; his solo exhibitions at major institutions of Western Art—the Pushkin in Moscow, the Prado in Madrid, the Uffizi in Florence, and the National Archaeological Museum of Naples; as well as his curated exhibition Non-Brand 非品牌, with works drawn from the collection of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum.

How do museum classics inspire artistic adventures today, and how do museum curators act as “shamans” to connect artists with art history? How do we build museums that will be embraced by the local public, as opposed to those that are merely cultural tourism brands for foreigners? What is the role of the museum for local communities, particularly in an age where erecting museums has become fashionable on a global scale and contemporary art increasingly refined and elitist?

Date:
10:30-11:00, Wednesday, 4 September
Venue:
Main Hall, Kyoto International Conference Center

Main Works

Color Gunpowder Drawing for City of Flowers in the Sky

Color Gunpowder Drawing for City of Flowers in the Sky: Daytime Explosion Event for Florence, 2018
Photo by Wen-You Cai, courtesy Cai Studio

Footprints of History: Fireworks Project for the Opening Ceremony of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games

Footprints of History: Fireworks Project for the Opening Ceremony of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games, 2008
Photo by Hiro Ihara, courtesy Cai Studio

Heritage, 2013

Heritage, 2013
Photograph: Natasha Harth, QAGOMA
Courtesy: Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art